NPDES Requirements

The National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) is a federal Clean Water Act program aimed at protecting water quality in the nation’s waterways from harmful pollutants. In South Carolina, the program is administered by the Department of Health and Environmental Control (SC DHEC). Horry County’s Stormwater Program operates under NPDES Phase II stormwater permit from SC DHEC BOW. Phase I communities are large urban areas, such as Columbia and Greenville. The Phase II permit designates Horry County as a Small Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (SMS4). The Phase II program requires SMS4s to comply with six minimum control measures (MCM). Minimum control measures are described in the links below.